The Kentucky High School Athletic Association’s Board of Control approved the new football alignment earlier this week — with one major change from years past.

Instead of the usual four-year setup, the governing body opted for a two-year rotation that will only be in effect for the 2023 and 2024 seasons. Realignment will take place again in 2025.

The KHSAA uses enrollment figures from the Kentucky Department of Education to determine which teams go in each of the six classes.

“Our numbers are out of whack,” KHSAA Commissioner Julian Tackett told the board. “Blame it on COVID, whatever the reasoning. Let’s come back next year with this year’s numbers and see what that looks like.”

In all, nearly 25% of the KHSAA’s 222 football playing schools are changing classes — including three of the four local teams.

Bardstown, Nelson County and Thomas Nelson are making the jump from Class 3A to 4A. The Tigers, Cardinals and Generals are now in District 2 along with John Hardin and Breckinridge County.

Bethlehem, meanwhile, remained in 1A. The Eagles are in District 2 with Campbellsville and Louisville schools Holy Cross and Kentucky Country Day.

KCD takes the spot of Fort Knox, which is moving from 1A to 2A next season.

The Board of Control also discussed several other items, including adding a girls’ bass fishing championship and setting one of the state golf first round sites at Winchester Country Club.

The Board also tabled discussion of adding championships in other sports, including girls’ wrestling and indoor track & field, until its February meeting.

Here is the complete realignment for the 2023 and 2024 seasons:

Class 1ADistrict 1: Ballard Memorial, Caverna, Fulton County, Russellville

District 2: Bethlehem, Campbellsville, Holy Cross (Louisville), Kentucky Country Day

District 3: Bellevue, Dayton, Newport, Newport Central Catholic

District 4: Bishop Brossart, Holy Cross (Covington), Ludlow, Trimble County

District 5: Berea, Eminence, Frankfort, Sayre

District 6: Fairview, Nicholas County, Paris, Raceland

District 7: Harlan, Lynn Camp, Middlesboro, Pineville, Williamsburg

District 8: Hazard, Paintsville, Pikeville

The fifth place team in District 7 will become the fourth place team in District 8 for the purpose of playoff cross-bracketing

Class 2A

District 1: Caldwell County, Crittenden County, Mayfield, Murray

District 2: Edmonson County, Fort Campbell, Owensboro Catholic, Todd County Central

District 3: Clinton County, Green County, Metcalfe County, Monroe County

District 4: Fort Knox, Lexington Christian, Shawnee, Washington County, WEB DuBois

District 5: Beechwood, Bracken County, Carroll County, Gallatin County, Owen County, Walton-Verona

District 6: Breathitt County, Danville, Leslie County, Somerset

District 7: Floyd Central, Knott County Central, Martin County, Prestonsburg

District 8: Betsy Layne, East Ridge, Pike County Central, Shelby Valley

Not eligible for district postseason competition until at least 2024

Class 3A

District 1: Hancock County, Hopkins County Central, McLean County, Trigg County, Union County, Webster County

District 2: Adair County, Butler County, Franklin-Simpson, Glasgow, Hart County

District 3: Central, Christian Academy-Louisville, Elizabethtown, LaRue County

District 4: Casey County, Garrard County, Marion County, Mercer County

District 5: Bourbon County, Lexington Catholic, Lloyd Memorial, Pendleton County

District 6: Bath County, East Carter, Fleming County, Lewis County, Russell, West Carter

District 7: Bell County, Clay County, Knox Central, McCreary Central, Rockcastle County

District 8: Belfry, Estill County, Lawrence County, Magoffin County, Morgan County, Powell County

Class 4ADistrict 1: Allen County-Scottsville, Calloway County, Hopkinsville, Logan County, Paducah Tilghman, Warren East

District 2: Bardstown, Breckinridge County, John Hardin, Nelson County, Thomas Nelson

District 3: DeSales, Doss, Jeffersontown, Valley, Waggener, Western

District 4: Franklin County, Henry County, North Oldham, Shelby County, Spencer County, Western Hills

District 5: Covington Catholic, Grant County, Harrison County, Holmes, Mason County

District 6: Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, Greenup County, Johnson Central, Rowan County

District 7: Boyle County, Lincoln County, Russell County, Taylor County, Wayne County

District 8: Corbin, Letcher County Central, Perry County Central, Whitley County

Class 5A

District 1: Apollo, Graves County, Madisonville-North Hopkins, Marshall County, Muhlenberg County, Owensboro

District 2: Bowling Green, Greenwood, Ohio County, South Warren

District 3: Atherton, Butler, Fairdale, Iroquois

District 4: Bullitt Central, Grayson County, Moore, North Bullitt, Seneca

District 5: Anderson County, Collins, Scott County, South Oldham, Woodford County

District 6: Boone County, Conner, Cooper, Dixie Heights, Highlands, Scott

District 7: East Jessamine, Madison Southern, Montgomery County, West Jessamine

District 8: Harlan County, North Laurel, Pulaski County, South Laurel, Southwestern

Class 6A

District 1: Christian County, Daviess County, Henderson County, McCracken County

District 2: Barren County, Central Hardin, North Hardin, Warren Central

District 3: DuPont Manual, Meade County, Pleasure Ridge Park, St. Xavier

District 4: Bullitt East, Fern Creek, Male, Southern

District 5: Ballard, Eastern, Oldham County, Trinity (Louisville)

District 6: Campbell County, Great Crossing, Ryle, Simon Kenton

District 7: Henry Clay, Lafayette, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Tates Creek

District 8: Bryan Station, Frederick Douglass, George Rogers Clark, Madison Central